DIY Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

With canned condensed milk so easily available, why make my own? Because I prefer not to put these ingredients found in the can – food additives, stabilizers and “natural” flavouring”, into my body. Basically condensed milk is just milk and sugar cook until evaporated and thickens. I like to use full cream milk to get the best flavour. Most recipes uses milk powder, well… don’t get me started talking why I prefer not using milk powder. Use your homemade condensed milk to sweeten your beverages, desserts, and toast!

Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

1 liter whole milk
1 cup beet sugar or honey
1 tablespoon butter, to thicken the milk

In a heavy-bottomed pot, bring the milk and the sugar to a boil over medium heat.  Reduce the heat to low and simmer very gently for about two hours (yeah, I know..) until the volume is reduced by half. The mixture should be barely simmering and never bubbling at any point. Stir every 15 minutes or so to keep the milk from forming the “skin” on top. After 2 hours, stir in butter. Remove the pot from heat and let the milk cool. The mixture will thicken further after it has cooled.

Tip: When refrigerated, homemade sweetened condensed milk has thicker consistency than the commercial one. You can add a few drops of water and whisk it lightly to get a thinner mixture or take out of the refrigerator well in advance before use.

5 thoughts on “DIY Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

  1. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been tto this website before
    but after checking through soke of the postt I
    realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely
    hhappy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checkming back frequently!

  2. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I
    think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  3. Pingback: No Bake Lemon Cheescake | mycrampedkitchen

  4. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this
    site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a very good job with this.
    Also, the blog loads very fast for me on Chrome. Exceptional
    Blog!

    cheap michael kors ipad case

Leave a Reply

