Cinnamon Vanilla Spice Body Scrub

Did you know that your skin could absorb 70% of all the oils, toxins, and chemicals you slather on it? The average woman absorbs about 5 lbs of toxic chemicals through her skin each year! I never wanted to be an average woman, never mind about what, and my skin is no exception!  With this body scrub, you can help yourself and and have the feeling of just being in a spa!

scrubbing

Also, you should consider that really would make a lovely gift. Why? Well…. let’s see: It’s handmade, it’s consumable, it’s indulgent. Think about it. Most of us have too much stuff cluttering up our lives anyway.  When you give a consumable present, you give a memorable experience, rather than something that will likely end up on a trash pile in a decade.  When a present is handmade, it spells work and sacrifice on your part. So when your loved one experiences your gift, they know they are loved. When that hand-crafted gift is indulgent, well… all bets are off. People feel special, unique, valued.

Cinnamon Vanilla Spice Body Scrub

¾ cup unrefined brown sugar
3 tablespoons organic ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons pure sweet almond or apricot kernel oil*
2 tablespoons unrefined avocado oil (gives a soothing and softening effect to the skin or substitute pure jojoba oil)*
1 teaspoon organic alcohol free vanilla extract**
1 teaspoon Vitamin E oil

Place brown sugar and cinnamon in a bowl and mix thoroughly.  In a separate bowl blend oils, vanilla extract and optional vitamin E.  Pour oil mixture into sugar mixture and mix thoroughly. Spoon into an airtight container and store out of direct sunlight.  If only sweet almond/apricot oil are used, shelf life up to 6 months. If the jojoba oil is incorporated, up to 1 year.

To Use

Scoop a tablespoon of the scrub into damp hands and rub them together. Apply to body and scrub in a circular motion until most of the crystals dissolve, focusing on rough areas such as elbows, knees, and heels. Rinse and repeat if desired.

scrub

Tips

This scrub is not appropriate for delicate facial skin.

* The oils I use, are organic, all of them. This is a personal preference. If you want to use what’s already in your pantry, olive oil can be used. However, the fragrance can overpower the vanilla/cinnamon scent of the scrub.

** Make sure your extract contains alcohol if you want your scrub to last longer. Alcohol-free extract will make the mixture vulnerable to spoilage sooner.

12 thoughts on “Cinnamon Vanilla Spice Body Scrub

  1. First off I would like to say great blog! I had a
    quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.

    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind
    prior to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting
    my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just
    seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying to
    figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints?

    Thank you!

  2. Hi I am so delighted I found your site, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Anyhow I am here
    now and would just like to say cheers for a fantastic post and
    a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    much more, Please do keep up the fantastic jo.

  3. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is valuable and everything. However think of if you added some great graphics or
    video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but
    with images and clips, this site could undeniably be one of the very best in its field.
    Good blog!

  4. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written much better!
    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept preaching about this. I’ll send this information to
    him. Fairly certain he’ll have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what
    I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new
    to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints
    for first-time blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

  6. Howdy! This article could not be written much better! Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I most certainly will forward this article to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

