Sunny Spinach Pie

sunny

What is better for a perfect Sunday than a sunny pie?

Yes, a Sunny Spinach Pie. This morning as soon as I open my eyes I wake up my husband and asked him to go to the beach. Jajaja! You heard well, to the beach!

Me

In my stubbornness to let go summer I didn’t realize how windy it was outside and as usual, Paul pleased me, so we left. We were one of three couples who were on the beach, everyone looked at us like if we were freaks. Most were dressed in sweatpants and sweaters and we wore shorts.

DSCF1117

Anyway, the magic words from Paul arrived after an hour: “I’m hungry”. So we went back home and I remembered this recipe that my mom had shared with me, and I said “why not?”. So while preparing lunch, try to make it as best I could. Didn’t look as nice as I wanted, but the taste was amazing ….  oh oh and I forgot to take photos while preparing it, so you will excuse me, do you?

DSCF1114

So, in case you wonder why this dough looks darker than any other regular dough, is because of the whole wheat flour. For this recipe, I didn’t use the pastry one, I just use the regular King Arthur Organic Whole Wheat Flour. You can use the regular one if you don’t have any kind of allergies and you’ll find out that is going to be even easier to handle than this one. If you’re trying whole wheat flour for the first time with this recipe, don’t get frustrated if the dough is not very soft to work with. Just be patient and use a rolling pin to help you, ok?

Sunny Spinach Pie

Dough

500 gr. whole wheat flour (4 cups)

200 ml. white wine

90 ml. olive oil

2 teaspoons salt

Mix all the ingredients for the dough until become uniform, cover it with plastic wrap while preparing the stuffing.

Filling

350 gr. organic chopped spinach (4 cups)

350 gr. ricotta cheese (1 1/2 cups)

100 gr. parmesan cheese (1 cup)

1 egg

salt, pepper and breadcrumbs

Mix the spinach and the ricotta; make sure the spinach have no water or drain as much as you can from it. Add the egg, grated cheese, salt and pepper. Preheat oven to 356 degrees (180 C). Divide the dough in 2 and create circles of 30 cm (25 inches) each, using a rolling pin. Place the first dough circle on baking paper and spread some breadcrumbs on it, that way it would absorb any liquid from the filling.  Place part of the stuffing in the center and the remaining creating a ring around it. Cover it with the second dough circle, wet the borders and attach one to another using a fork. Place a small bowl over the central stuffing and punch with a fork around. Cut the borders and turn them up 90 degrees. Bake for 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

