Cheese & Delicious Spinach Quiche

IMG_0843

This weekend was heavy on the brain and on the heart. Really, the only thing I wanted to do was pray, read with my legs soaking on a gigantic pot filled with hot water, sea salt and dry lavender, and eat lots of madagascar vanilla ice cream (from Three Twins of course!), lots of it. If those three things sound at odds with one another… well, they are… and I’ll accept your judgements and criticism.

During this weekend’s cookbook reading, I spied a spinach and chive pie in the cover. What? More carbs!? Well, yes. It was love at first sight… and I was positive I could make a better home version (and then eat it with Paul fresh out of the oven).

IMG_0841 - Version 2

Sunday morning, with the flavor combination still on my mind, I baked up my own cheese spinach pie. I brewed up a glass of orange juice while the pie was in the oven and, um… it blew me away. Fragrant, salty, and sooo tender… I almost cried in my juice. Comfort carbs. Thank you.

We are no strangers to pies around here. We’ve done this before.

flour-and-butter  spinach-artichoke-cream-cheese1 - Version 2

Cold butter is combined with flour, a good dose of pecorino romano, a little bit of salt, coarse black pepper and crushed fresh garlic. I do this with my fingers though you can use a mixer if you don’t like getting your hands dirty. I get it. No problem.

IMG_0845 IMG_0847

This picture should be evidence enough. These pie is tender and golden! The flavor of onions is fragrant and savory. The combination of mozzarella and pecorino cheese is salty and super alluring. I also love the added flavor of the buttermilk on the batter.

These pie is everything it need to be, and the perfect companion to red wine in a cold fall day. Eat carbs like you know what’s up.

Cheese Spinach Quiche

Crust:

200 gr. whole wheat flour

125 gr. unsalted butter

3 tablespoons of cold water

3 tablespoons of pecorino cheese

A clove of fresh garlic

Salt and coarse black pepper

Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine flour and butter; when well mixed, add remaining ingredients and knead until you have a smooth consistency. Let stand in a cool and dry place for one hour. Spread on a pie pan and bake for 10 minutes.

Filling:

1 cup of fresh spinach, chopped

1 large yellow onion, chopped

Fresh garlic, finely chopped

6 large eggs

1/2 cup mozzarella cheese

1/2 cup pecorino cheese

1/2 cup buttermilk

Fresh basil, rosemary and thyme

Salt and pepper flakes

In a big bowl, mix all the ingredients. Pour mixture into crust and bake for 45 minutes. Let it cool for 10 minutes before serving.

This pie is best eaten the day it is made, but will last up to 2 days.

 

2 thoughts on “Cheese & Delicious Spinach Quiche

Leave a Reply

