Gelato alla Crema con Nocciole e Cannella

DSCF1489

“… everyone knows that ice cream is worth the trouble of being cold. Like all things virtuous, you have to suffer to gain the reward.”
Brandon SandersonThe Rithmatist

As you probably know by now, I don’t have any diet related dogmas (except avoiding industrial chemicals, pesticides, toxins and other additives in food), and I do follow my body’s intuition and listen to it very closely when deciding what to eat. I have noticed not eating dairy products on a daily basis bring me near to death and I do not believe that a low amount of dairy products in my diet improved the way my body looks and feels.

DSCF1466
I used to be one of those kids that SWORE by cocoa krispies and milk for breakfast time… and now I just keep doing it.
My skin is still bright, my stomach still is flat and my general energy haven’t change at all.

DSCF1485
But, if there’s one thing that gets me off my routine – it’s ice cream! I love it! And that’s why I’m always looking for ways to enjoy “poison” free desserts and it’s why I created this recipe so I can enjoy ice cream all the time without sacrificing anything.

DSCF1486

This recipe is for homemade whole milk-based ice cream made just like your old time favorites. Yesterday, I made Hazelnut, one of my favorite flavors, of course free from all the crazy artificial colors and additives… Soon, my husband’s favorites – Pistachio and Mint Chocolate Chip. They sound both SO GOOD! (Well, Mint Chocolate Chip not so much to me…)

DSCF1492

::Gelato alla Crema con Nocciole e Cannella::

Basic mixture:

4 egg yolks

1 cup (200 gr.) beet sugar

2 cups (500 ml) whole milk

1 cup (250 ml) cream

For flavor:

1 1/2 cups (192 gr.) chopped hazelnuts

1 tablespoon cinnamon powder

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

Lots, lots of love!

Mix egg yolks and sugar in a bowl until pale and creamy. Bring the milk and cream to a boil, add the cinnamon powder and vanilla; then set aside and cool for ten minutes. Pour the milk and cream into the egg mixture, cook on the top of a double boiler, adding the chopped hazelnuts, until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a spoon, making sure it never comes to a boil. Remove from heat, and leave it cool completely. Transfer the cooled mixture to a big bowl and place in the freezer. After 3 hours, whisk the mixture to make sure it is freezing evenly. Return to the freezer for 3 hours, then whisk again. Whisk one last time after 3 more hours. Place some hazelnuts and cinnamon sticks on top and chill the dish/bowl before serving, at least 30 minutes, that way your ice cream stay frozen longer.

Note: If you have an ice-cream machine, transfer the mixture to it, and follow the instructions to finish.

Leave a Reply

