CHRISTMAS, FA LA LA LA LAAA!

“Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful. ”
― Norman Vincent Peale
“Our hearts grow tender with childhood memories and love of kindred, and we are better throughout the year for having, in spirit, become a child again at Christmas-time.”
― Laura Ingalls Wilder
                                                                 IMG_1030 - Version 2 

What is Christmas?

Well, for me, means smell of fresh paint, sunny, breezy days on an infinitely blue sky. It means listening to carols every day, those who my sisters and I learned to sing from my mom and my grandma. Also means dance with the traditional salsa singers like El Gran Combo, Richie Ray y Bobby Cruz, Diomedes Diaz, Hector Lavoe, Willie Colon and many others.

Christmas for me means putting out the nativity set and make the “Novena.”

                                                                            DSCF1522

Means asking the members of my family” What we should have for Christmas Eve dinner?”

So, around 6 or 7 in the evening, everybody dresses up, and start to head their way to where we are supposed to meet. Normally my Grandpa’s house.

And of course, we do what we liked the most: eat (until you can’t breathe or move for that matter, in your chair), drink, talk, dance, share with the family: All funny anecdotes of our childhood or what happened earlier on the year, plans for next year, future trips, etc., etc.

This year, sadly, I cannot be there for all these fun, but my heart goes out to them. My Family.

So, for them and for all of you, wish you a Merry Christmas!

                           DSCF1453

                              DSCF1452

Leave a Reply

