Cranberry Lemon Muffins

DSCF1816

“What can I say? You can’t buy happiness, but you can buy cupcakes. And that’s kind of the same thing. I’ve never met a cupcake I didn’t want to get to know better.”

― Jasinda WilderBig Girls Do It Better

When I think about the muffin top around my waist, I want to die. In fact, I die ten thousand times. And also, I feel like to bake “muffins”. Good bye beautiful-golden swimsuit…
A good lemon cranberry muffin is just one of the best parts of winter. And despite the fact that it’s not going to help me lose any weight, cranberries are in season, and I’m stocking up. A single gigantic bag of cranberries thrown right in the freezer will last me through till spring (kind of…), so I’m anticipating plenty of cranberry goodness all through the winter.

I want to pack these muffins with as much flavor as possible.

DSCF1797

In my kitchen, flavor, is not a problem.

DSCF1804

I made simple sugar fragrant and utterly lovely by adding fresh lemon zest. This creates, a pretty awesome perfume.

DSCF1809

Next ingredient? Cranberries … Is a beautiful color, isn’t it?

DSCF1814

I filled the muffin cups halfway … then I add in more cranberries and topped off the muffin cups.

DSCF1819 DSCF1817

Look how beautiful are the colors in this muffin! If you prefer fresh rather than dried, you’re going to love the tart cranberries as they explode in your mouth! I used a sour cream cake base. It’s moist and fluffy, with a fine crumb, perfect as a base for poppy seeds cupcakes or fruit cupcakes (or both). After making the muffins, if you feel they need a little extra sweetness, you can make a lemon simple syrup and brush over the top of the muffins. Also, you could just increase the sugar slightly, or sprinkle sugar over the top of the muffins before baking them.

::Cranberry Lemon Muffins::

½ cup sour cream

1 cup beet sugar

3 large eggs

pinch salt

1 ½ cups whole wheat pastry flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 tablespoons lemon zest

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

½ cup sunflower oil

2 cups fresh or dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a large bowl, mix the sour cream, sugar, salt and eggs together. Add the lemon zest and vanilla extract. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour and baking powder.  Add dry ingredients to wet, and stir together until moistened. Add oil and mix, mix, mix until batter is smooth and homogeneous.  Fold in the cranberries. Bake for 20 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

