Hazelnut Crust Tart

DSCF1833

How is your willpower?

I have none.

DSCF1829

Here I am again, sharing with you another of those recipes that will surely going to help us lose some weight (ha!).

I have no regrets, I’m killing myself (I’m being very exaggerated) 5 days a week in the gym. The truth is that I’m enjoying the cycling and zumba classes. Actually, on second thought, I should also consider yoga … Yeah, I think I will.

I hope you don’t have the same problem as me, take a glass of water and gain 3 pounds. Phew, it’s horrible.

DSCF1826

Does not stop me to do what I like, though: cooking, baking, living … The best times in my life, that I share with those I love.

This tart is incredibly delicate. Melts in your mouth and have this  crunchy, nutty crust.

I love this pie.  This pie is certainly easy to love.

No oven required.

Martin Luther King Day Dessert? Yeah!

::Hazelnut Crust Tart:: 

Crust:

8 oz honey grahams

3 tablespoons beet sugar

1/2 cup hazelnuts

1/2 cup pecans

4 tablespoons butter, melted

In a food processor, mix all the ingredients, except the butter. When everything is well mixed, add the butter. Pour the graham cracker and butter mixture into a 9-inch tart shell with a removable bottom.  Press the mixture along the sides of the tart pan and along the bottom until evenly coated.  Carefully place the tart pan in the freezer while you prepare the filling.

Filling:

3 tablespoons cornstarch

3/4 cup panela

3 cups milk

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 tablespoon butter, room temperature

To make the filling combine the cornstarch, panela and milk. Cook until bubbly. Mix in the cinnamon and  stir. Add the beaten eggs to the milk mixture and fold together until well incorporated. Pour in the vanilla extract and butter.

Remove the tart pan from the freezer and spoon in the filling. Spread evenly. Return to the freezer for another 2 hours.

Whip up a cup of heavy cream to stiff peaks and add to the top of the cinnamon filling. Refrigerate for at least two hours, or overnight. Top with grated dark chocolate and crushed hazelnuts. Serve in slices. Seriously.

One thought on “Hazelnut Crust Tart

Leave a Reply

