Mixed Veggies Chicken Avocado Walnut Salad

“One day, we will live in a world without salads. It is a dream I have.”
 Carl “Cal” Tuohey, Gray Hair, Black Belt: Earning a Black Belt After 

DSCF1832

It’s Monday. For me, the worst day of the week. I do not like the idea that the weekend is gone. I find it hard to get up. But I got it. Very early this morning, had a healthy breakfast and went to my spinning class. Checked.

A mid-morning fruit snack. Checked.

Salad for lunch. Almost checked.

Salad time!  This one is fresh and exciting.  Yes… I’m still talking about salad.

DSCF1826

This salad contains fresh avocado, arugula, english cucumber, cherry tomatoes, crunchy walnuts, chicken, olives and a balsamic- mustard dressing.

I feel like I’m trying to make up for all the food I devoured in December.  Seriously… I had so many of everything!  I don’t want my salad to feel like a chore, ever. That’s the absolute worst.

So, while I’m preparing this salad, comes to mind over and over, a quote which reads: “Eating a salad (in public) is an overweight person’s attempt to appear in control.”

And the only thing I do is think: God, M. Mokhonoana is right! I don’t want to be that person!… Don’t worry. It was just a minute of panic, but am good now. Everything under control.

DSCF1830

This awesome salad have a few happy ingredients: fresh citrus juice and ripe avocado, crunchy walnuts and little extra parmesan cheese.

The combination of citrus juice with creamy avocado is just wonderful.  Perfect balance.  The chicken add a bit of protein.  Leafy greens because they make us beautiful.

::Mixed Veggies Chicken Avocado Walnut Salad::

For the salad:

about 2 cups leafy arugula

about 1 cup of cherry tomatoes, halved

1 medium (or half of a large) organic english cucumber, sliced

1 small (or half of a large) ripe avocado, peeled and sliced

1/4 cup olives

1/4 cup walnuts

1/4 cup diced chicken breast

For the dressing:

1 teaspoon dijon or whole grain mustard

2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar

1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 tablespoon olive oil

sea salt and black pepper

In a medium bowl, combine all of the salad ingredients.

In a small jar with a tight-fitting lid combine mustard, vinegar, balsamic, olive oil, lemon juice, a pinch of salt, and a few pinches of pepper.  Place the lid on the jar and shake it up until the mixture is emulsified. Taste the dressing and season to taste, adding more salt, pepper, or acid as necessary. Pour the dressing (as much as you’d life) over the salad.  Sprinkle with parmesan cheese. Enjoy immediately!

3 thoughts on “Mixed Veggies Chicken Avocado Walnut Salad

Leave a Reply

