Apple Crisp Tart

DSCF1923

“At no other time than autumn, does the earth let itself be inhaled in one smell, the ripe earth; in a smell that is in no way inferior to the smell of the sea, bitter where it borders on taste, and more honeysweet where you feel it touching the first sounds. Containing depth within itself, darkness, something of the grave almost.”                                                                                                                                                      -Rainer Maria Rilke, Letters on Cezanne

I don’t think I can say much. This quote basically expresses what I feel in my heart. It’s something magical…

I don’t know about you, but I love the fall. The colors , the leaves falling from the trees , the weather, macchiatos, pumpkins, apples … and,umm… of course, cinnamon.

The fall is romantic and baking becomes much more enjoyable, pleasant.

And that’s why I want to share this recipe. It has a lot of texture. It is a crunchy and tasty tart that you can accompany with your favorite hot beverage.

In my case, I decided to make a bourbon – vanilla ice cream.

DSCF1924

Don’t worry about counting calories. It took me a long time (and tears) understand that to be happy, you should eat what makes you feel good. In my case, baking and know that I can change the recipes I like for a healthier version, makes me feel wonderful.

DSCF1920

::APPLE CRISP TART::

1 cup + 1 tablespoon whole wheat pastry flour

1/3 cup + 1 tablespoon coconut sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup nuts (slivered almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts)

4-6 large apples, cored and sliced

Heat oven to 375 degrees F.

Whisk together 1 cup flour. 1/3 cup coconut sugar, cinnamon, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. Mix in the coconut oil using your hands, until coarse crumbs form. Add nuts and combine.

Toss together the apples with the remaining flour and sugar in a large bowl. Transfer to a baking dish and scatter topping over the apple mixture.

Bake until golden brown and bubbling, 25 to 30 minutes. If it’s browning too quickly, tent with foil.

 

3 thoughts on “Apple Crisp Tart

Leave a Reply

