Controversial Pumpkin Spice Latte

I was recently reading the October issue of the Food Network Magazine, looking for new ideas or recipes, and came across with this article. Apparently, the favorite drink of the fall  is the PSL (Pumpkin Spice Latte), very famous among Starbucks, Dunkin’ Donuts and McDonald’s customers (meaning, almost everyone in America). Along with the article, there is a recipe and it didn’t seem too bad. Beforehand, I knew that would change something here and there, but keeping it more or less faithful to what the recipe indicated. It was my first time and didn’t want to ruin anything.

I also did an online research to know more about this famous drink, and I found a very interesting article that I wanted to share with you, along with my own version of the PSL.

So, the first link is the article I mentioned before, which is quite interesting. The research was conducted by Vani Hari a.k.a. the Food Babe and her team.

http://foodbabe.com/2014/08/25/starbucks-pumpkin-spice-latte/

The second one is, obviously, the response and reaction of a person who does not agree with the above and who also think is “very normal” to find certain things like HFCS  or dyes in the ingredient lists of  certain products.

http://www.snopes.com/food/ingredient/pumpkinspicelatte.asp

Response from Vani to the previous article

I personally prefer to have the satisfaction of knowing what I’m eating/drinking. Always calms my mind and eases my soul. Dramatic, right?

I think you all know what is my position on these events.

Hope you find this article useful , interesting and thoughtful.

Laura

Leave a Reply

